pb 1

I prefer owning individual titles vs a collection of stories… simply because I think a book cover is a crucial element of the reading experience. (and collections are so heavy!) It’s like the start of a movie you know… you don’t want to miss the beginning with the opening soundtrack and the title sequence. Likewise, I like to take a moment of two staring at a book cover before I plunge into it. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t judge a book by its cover 😛 but yes, I still care about my covers, hardcover or paperback.

Rarely will I come across a single volume of stories that catches my eye. There are only a handful of them that I have taken a great liking to and this book is at the top of my list for the very young.

pb 5

HarperCollins Treasury of Picture Book Classics delightfully curated collection of classic stories that you and I, and even older adult readers might have enjoyed in our younger days.

pb 2

I am impressed with the carefully chosen picture books. There are 12 well-loved classic stories in this large hardback book from older ones like Caps for Sale and Goodnight Moon to newer ones like If You Give A Mouse A Cookie and Pete’s A Pizza. (in case you’re wondering, yes, it is heavy). I say, all 12 stories in this collection are worth owning! The picture quality is great (you can trust HarperCollins to deliver) and the publisher has dedicated each page of this book to every page of the original titles unlike other collections in which they shrink the pictures and put multiple pictures per page. So this bulky one definitely makes you feel like you own 12 different books in its original state… except all bound together. Value for money I say!

pb 3

This was my book of choice to bring along on our recent holiday trips. Instead of carrying individual titles, I decided to bring just one but bulky book along to satisfy both my pre-schooler and Kindergartener. 12 stories are enough to satisfy them and there is a good mix of stories that appeal to each of them or a few that both can enjoy!

pb 4

An added bonus is that this picture book classics has included a short author biographies as well as ideas for parents to further enjoy the story. Thoughtful!

Is this a buy? Sure is for me, in fact I bought a couple more copies to give away. It makes a perfect gift, perhaps you’d like to check it out. 🙂

 

 

