Have you ever wondered what these shiny seals on the book covers mean?

I find these award stickers helpful in selecting books over the countless others out in the market. Below are three well recognized labels… hope you find it helpful too 🙂

award 1The Geisel Award

This award is named after Theodor Seuss Geisel, known to many as Dr. Seuss. It honours the best book for beginning readers.

I find Seuss award books to be great choices if you want to encourage your beginning readers to read on his own.  Books awarded in this category must be simple and straightforward with words repeated to ensure knowledge retention. Perfect for our emergent readers! These books are targeted for readers from Kindergarten to Grade 2.


This year’s winner is “You are (not) small” by Anna Kang. (Highly recommend! Both Sprinter and Sunshine LOVE this book! See my post here. ) Past winners include our favourites too “There Is a Bird on Your Head” by Mo Willems and “Pete the Cat and His four Groovy Buttons” by Eric Litwin.( See my post here.)

award 3The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is named after the 19th-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. So this award specifically awards picture books which are great for young readers.  This award is one of the most prestigious American children’s book awards.

A winner is selected every year, along with a number of Caldecott Honor (runner ups). The number of runner ups chosen for that year really depends on how many great books there were that year that impressed the judges. This year, we had a record number 6!

Picture books in this category provide a great visual experience. No surprise then that many of my favourite illustrated books were recognized in this category. This year’s winner is “The adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend” by Dan Santat. (You can find my review here.)

Past winners of the Caldecott include “Make Way for Ducklings” by Robert McCloskey ( review to come soon), “Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak and “This is Not My Hat” by Jon Klassen.


award 2The Newbery Award

The Newbery award honours John Newbery who was known as  “The Father of Children’s Literature”.  He was an English publisher who published children’s literature.

This award honours the author of the most distinguished book for children and usually the book honoured is a novel.

This year’s winner is “The Crossover” by Kwame Alexander and past winners include “A Wrinkle in Time'” by Madeline L’ Engle, “The Giver” by Lois Lowry and “When You Reach Me” by Rebecca Stead.



Hope the above helps!

An award sticker brings extra credibility to a book and makes it stand out BUT there are lots of books out there with PLENTY that are brilliant and did not receive an award, so don’t overlook them!