you-are-not-small
Publisher: Two Lions. Age: 2 – 6

I bought this book simply because it was written by Anna Kang. Nope, I had no idea who the author was at the time of purchase. Nope, I’ve never read any of her books. I bought it simply because my mother’s name is Anna Kang and my mother is a brilliant writer. Simply the best in my opinion.

I have always wondered what it would be like had mother pursued her talent and wrote a book. I have no doubt she would have been a successful author. She would have written beautiful essays. She would have written children’s books… beautiful stories in beautiful language with wonderful messages. That’s her gift. As far as I can remember, she has always won something in every writing competition she has entered so she clearly has talent. But alas, my mother never took this further. She has always been busy with the three of us (even now!), wholly devoting herself to the family. I am so very grateful for her sacrifice for she’s an a.ma.zing, selfless and loving mother, but a part of me feels a tinge of sadness that my mother did not have a chance to pursue her interest and pursue it beautifully.

Lately, I’ve been encouraging her to revisit those writing days. ‘No, not at this age. My brain’s rusty and it takes too much energy out of me ” she would say. She takes writing seriously so I understand it can be exhausting. But if she writes, I would soooo publish it for her. How wonderful it would be if my children can grow up with Grandma’s stories 🙂

I’ll try asking her again… she’s now very busy with her grandchildren. She has once again put her interests on hold for us. Yes, that’s my mother. Always putting others before her. I love her so much.

Ok, let’s get back on track. Clearly, I was first drawn to the book because of the ‘name’ but upon reading it with my child, we fell in love with the whole book.

Brother and sister enjoying the book together. So sweet…
Fiinally a book he can read on his own 😉

First, it is really short and simple. My son can read it and he enjoys reading it! There are only a few words on each page… but oh those few words carry weight!

Second, the illustrations (the author’s husband drew them) are uber cute! We have read the book numerous times and we still giggle at it!

Third, there is a meta-message. It is a simple book with great ideas and that is what impresses me 🙂

You are not small

Two creatures can’t agree on which one is big and which is small. That is until another creature arrives to solve it once and for all.
It’s Relativism 101 as one reviewer puts it. Just because something is small to you doesn’t mean it is small. The story is a complete dialogue and even young children will be amused by it.
I recommend this book for storytime classes. It will get kids talking 🙂

Anna Kang and Christopher Weyant are a husband and wife team and it is Anna’s debut picture book. The couple did an interview on the book. You can read more here. This book also won this year’s Theodore Seuss Geisel award. (More about the awards another time.) Great start I say.

I look forward to reading more of her books in the future.

 

